Lady Antebellum Album Breakdown

Standard

Lady Antebellum released their third album, We Owned the Night, on September 13, 2011. In typical Lady A fashion, the complementary voices of Charles Kelly and Hillary Scott speak to hearts of all kinds and ages. The 12-track album could be narrowed to nine; a few were lacking the specificity that country music needs.

Listen as you read!

We Owned The Night: Owned the Night is the title track of their album, which was released in July 2011. I think it’s a safe song that will eventually get annoying on the radio waves, and will grow in popularity outside of just the country genre.  The music video is as safe as the song.  It has all the necessary aspects: Abercrombie-esque models, fireworks, red solo cups, and cuddling.

Just A Kiss: This song was Lady A’s first single released off the album in May 2011 and was an instant hit. A refreshing take on what a first date could, really what it should, be.

Dancin’ Away With My Heart: Daydreaming about your high school relationship? Throw this on to dance down memory lane. These lyrics take us back to the days when our search for our special someone happened when the lights dimmed at prom, not when they brightened at bar-close.

Friday Night: The chorus begins, “I wanna be your Friday night sweet ride,” which I think is an adorable way to say, “Be my booty call?” The beat isn’t the only fast thing about this song. It’s fun and catchy, perfect sing-a-long to blast before a night out.

When You Were Mine: It’s cute. It’s boring. No need to listen to the song – the title says it all.

Cold As Stone: The cool thing about having a male and female in a band is you get to have both sides of the story. The back and fourth refrains reveal the difficulty of a breakup and why no matter who initiated the final good-bye, both people involved want to feel numb to the pain of losing love. The music throughout is pretty, but is anybody else reminded of the childhood flick, Behind the Waterfall? Don’t get me wrong, it’s a classic, but this song isn’t intended to be background music for whittling a whistle.

Singing Me Home: Plan a summer picnic with your girl, and play this track in the truck on your drive there.

Wanted You More: Perfect song to sulk to when your heart’s hurting. Wondering what went wrong,

As You Turn Away: “I keep reaching out for you, hoping you might stay.” Breakups are sloppy and blurry, and it’s not just your runny nose and red eyes. This song puts the desperate tears and emotional panic into words you can’t find during that moment of utter vulnerability.

Love I’ve Found In You: The lyrics in this song are as lame as a poem written in the first month of a relationship, rhyming all the fake promises Hollywood has brainwashed you into believing.

Somewhere Love Remains: Well then go find it and stop whining about it.

Heart Of The World: Honestly, the first time I listened to this song the only thing I could think about was an American Eagle shirt my friend had in middle school that said, “Love Makes the World Go ‘Round,” and I was disappointed that Lady A was as shallow as a an overpriced graphic tee. But the more times I played it, I realized I was being a shallow listener. Once I moved on from my brilliant comparison, I was able to hear the words that mattered more than the title of the track. Give this one a fair shot.

One response »

  1. Just got their CD today!
    I’ll have to read the full breakdown after my physics test, though :)

    Keep up the good work, Linds. I love stopping in and reading your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

