Eminem is the New Mozart

Standard

Public schools across the nation have lacked a consistently strong music and arts program, but Nashville schools can’t be lumped into this statistic.

The Nashville education system is trying to continue the legacy of Music City by broadening it’s music program.  Country, rock, and rap will make it’s way into lesson plans that used to focus strictly on classical curriculum.  School officials want to take advantage of the rich culture that surrounds these schools.

Randy Goodman, co-chair of the Music City Music Council made the most sense to me when he said, “We want to make sure the next generation isn’t left out of that musical experience. Whether it becomes their vocation or not, it’s a connection to the roots of what this city is all about.”

Students will be allowed to choose a traditional or contemporary track according to their interests.  Anybody want to sign up for Rapping 101 with me?

Now, I’ve never been a huge advocate of the arts.  Maybe I’m bitter because I can’t carry a tune or that I was never first chair in band.  Perhaps it’s because my parents expected A++’s in P.E. and praised me for B’s in music.  Either way, I quit playing the trumpet when I got braces (cool kid alert, I know), and never thought about a sharp, flat, or scale again.

But now that I’m in college and oh-so mature, it’s easy to see that the kids with a passion for something beyond a video game or football field are going to be the most successful.  Sure, in high school they were the ones on the drumline instead on the sideline and didn’t know what a haircut was, but they knew what made them happy.  They’ll find a career, or even hobby, that brings them fulfillment and others entertainment.

If Nashville makes music cool, high school hierarchy might be a tad different.

One response »

  1. “Instruction in songwriting, production and other skills such as DJ-ing will also be added to music theory and other existing offerings.” How interesting – I can’t believe this is happening in public schools! I also wonder how much it will cost … especially that some states can’t even afford general music programs.

Leave a Reply

