Rock and Roll With It

Standard

Remember color by number?  Well this was my Monday-by-number:

5 hours of sleep

15 hours straight spent on campus

0 hours of homework complete

15 minute nap in the Journalism building

96 hours until the weekend

It was just one of those days – the kind that you spend working hard with nothing to show for it,  you’d cry if you had energy to form tears, you lay down exhausted and aren’t able to fall asleep.  So, instead of crying or sleeping, I used my “free time” to think about where I could “escape.”  Images of a tropical island ran like a carousel through my mind, until the pressure from  a handsome masseuse quickly turned to my workload weighing heavily on my shoulders.

So, two days, 11 hours of sleep, and only 48 hours until the weekend, I’m using a different technique to calm myself down: Kenny Chesney.  His new single, Reality, calmed me down with words that reminded me that everything is going to be okay.

Reality

For me it’s a beach bar
Or on a boat underneath the stars
Or with my band up on a stage
For a while everything’s okay

For some it’s a fast car
Moonshine in a mason jar
And everybody has their way
Somehow to escape

Reality, yeah, sometimes life
Ain’t all that it’s cracked up to be
So let’s take a chance and live this fantasy
‘Cause everybody needs to break free from reality

Yeah, some days it’s a bitch, it’s a bummer
We need a rock and roll show in the summer
To let the music take us away
Take our minds to a better place

Where we feel that sense of freedom
Leave our worries behind, we don’t need ’em
All we need is a sunny day and an old tailgate
And we’ll escape

Reality, yeah, sometimes life
Ain’t all that it’s cracked up to be
So let’s take a chance and live this fantasy
‘Cause everybody needs to break free from reality

Everybody raise your hands and voice tonight
Set your soul free, let’s take a carpet ride
We’ll leave it all behind

Reality, yeah, sometimes life
Ain’t all that it’s cracked up to be
So let’s take a chance and live this fantasy
‘Cause everybody needs to break free from reality

Come on everybody, break free
Come on everybody, break free

(Fun Fact: Kenny thought of this song while sitting in the dentist chair)

Playing this song on repeat is one way to relieve some stress, but according to a combination of health websites that I researched there are several, simple ideas to manage stress.  The main points that were most often repeated were: identify what the stressor is, eat healthy (click through examples of stress reducing foods), exercise, don’t acting impulsively, learn to say no, take a mini vacation, laugh, go outside, and do something nice for yourself.  While I think all of these are great ideas, thinking about fitting a good laugh, exercise, sleep, and eating even one balanced meal are enough to take up an entire day before I even write my To-Do list.  Adding more hours in the day is out of the question, so the only option is creating more time with the 24 we were given.  Mayo Clinic provides a brief, helpful tutorial on how to manage your time that I found really interesting.

Tonight I chose my favorite of the stress relieving ideas (laughter and a mini vacation), and I traveled 30 minutes outside of Iowa City to play with my friends puppy.  Guest writer for my next post?

 

 

 

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

