Vegetarian Views

Standard

When I picture a vegan, I sure don’t imagine Ozzy Osbourne.

But, according to this article I better change my idea of what a vegan looks like.  Ozzy was diagnosed with Parkins Disease in 2005 and is using the animal-free diet to take the next step in his new lifestyle.

Ozzy and his detox made me wonder if choosing to be a vegan or a vegetarian really is a healthier lifestyle or if it’s just of a celebrity-world fad.

But before I get into the pros and cons of being a herbivore, I was curious how many known vegetarians there are in the country music industry versus the rest of hollywood.  I found a list of famous vegetarians, and out of the hundreds of celebrities named I saw four country singers: Carrie Underwood, Faith Hill, Shanaya Twain, and Kellie Pickler. (In my next post I’ll discuss the Carrie Underwood’s fan controversy with her choice to skip the meat).  In an industry that has a huge farmer following, the support for vegetarians is quite different to other music genres.

This song expresses the artists love for bacon and really hits home the southern stereotype, especially with a chorus:

You’re in my heart
And you clog my veins
Someday you’ll cause me
Some sweet chest pains

We may die young
But we’ll die free
And if I die from you
I’ll know you died for me

Probably not on PETA’s playlist.

Don’t worry, it’s not on mine either (but that’s because it’s a terrible song, not because I don’t like bacon).  I’d categorize myself as an all-American eater with my favorite foods being a juicy burger, melt-in-your-mouth ribs, a good steak, and a can’t-go-wrong Wrigley Dog.  While I love these foods, I have several friends that choose to slap a veggie patty between their bun instead, advocating against animal cruelty.  More power to them, but for the sake of space, I’m going to steer clear from that discussion in this post and focus on the health benefits of being a vegetarian.

The Vegetarianism Times website shows us that 7.3 million Americans (3.2%) are vegetarians.

  • 59 percent are female and 41 percent are male.
  • 42.0  percent are age 18 to 34 years old; 40.7 percent are 35 to 54; and 17.4  percent are over 55.
  • 57.1 percent have followed a vegetarian diet for more than 10 years; 18 percent for 5 to 10 years; 10.8  percent for 2 to 5 years, 14.1 percent for less than 2 years
I found a pro vegetarian post on Consumercide website with a lot of interesting information on why a meatless diet is better for our all around health.  It says that it reduces heart disease, cancer, and obesity.  It also includes statistics on the pesticide intake of meat eaters.  The amount of accessible material on the web promoting a vegetarian diet is overwhelming, and I have no doubt the perks of limiting meat intake are equally as overwhelming.  But, without a meal planner and disposable grocery store/farmers market budget, it seems impossible to get all of the nutrients into a well-balanced, vegetarian diet.
Pulling from several websites, I’ve compiled a list of the pros and cons of being a vegetarian.  In order to be as thorough as possible, I’ve included the links I referenced at the bottom if you would like more information.
Disclaimer: there are several kinds of vegetarians, by definition they don’t eat meat, poultry, or fish.
Pros:
  • Prevents type 2 diabetes, heart disease, and cancer
  • Appropriate to maintain this diet during pregnancy
  • Lower mortality rate
Cons:
  • Don’t get adequate amount of protein, iron, calcium, omega 3 fatty acids, and vitamin B-12
  • Have to take supplements
  • Have to be constantly looking for “hidden” animal ingredients in food
  • Can be difficult to plan meals with other non-vegetarian eaters

Read more:

http://www.livestrong.com/article/196211-pros-cons-of-a-vegetarian-diet/#ixzz1cII3yrXa

http://www.webmd.com/diet/ss/slideshow-vegetarian-diet

Leave a Reply

