Live Blog

Standard

On December 3, I grabbed three girlfriends and spent Saturday night at a honky tonk – well, as close as you can get to a honky tonk in Iowa City.  A friend had told me that they had a great cover band playing, so I figured it would be a fun way to get my country fix.  Little did I know that the entertainment wasn’t limited to the stage.  I used this opportunity as a bit of a social experiment.  I tweeted about my night as much as possible without trying to look like a rude, out of place, city-slicker.  I quoted my friends reactions, what I saw, and who I talked to.  Let’s just say, my heeled, Target boots were out of place next to the regulars.

8: 30

“I feel like I’m in footloose” first quote of the night.

8:35

Country music fills the air as we walk into a dance floor with people line dancing. A lot of cowboys hats and plaid.

8:45

Green peppers stuffed with cream cheese was my favorite appetizer choice. Almost a vegetable, right?

8:50

My friend is currently being hit on by a 30 year old man in cowboy boots and authentic cowboy garb.

8:52

Well, it’s the owner.

8:54

Just told the owner about my live blog and he looked at my smart phone, shook his head, and said “tweet?”

9:00

At exactly 9 Jake Mcvey took the stage and sang his cover of a Kenny Chesney song.

9:10

The dance floor hasn’t slowed and I can’t figure out why everybody here knows how to dance like this.

9:15

As soon as the song ends everybody leaves the dance floor to get a beer.

9:25

Big hair, big belt buckles, big beer bellies.

9:30

There are two age groups: people in their 20s and people in their 60s.

9:33

There are two styles: Tennessee cowboy and rhinestone cowboy.

9:40

The guy double fisting beers when we walked in is now using his dance partner as leverage to keep him verticle.

9:42

“wranglers are a requirement to get in here if you are a guy.”

9:50

“my TA is here. He wears a white fedora during the day and a cowboy hat at night?”

10:15

I couldn’t tweet for awhile because I was dragged onto the dance floor by a guy that seemed as out of place as me.

10:17

He was the only one in the bar with tennis shoes on.

10:20

The owner came up and asked how the tweets were coming and then reminded me that dance lessons were on Thursdays.

10:22

Was that his way of telling me I’m not a good dancer? Well of course I’m not, my partner just “dipped” me into one of the rhinestone cowboys.

Leave a Reply

